Home | Action Alert! | Marriage | Op Ed | Transgender | Youth | Of The Spirit

Politics | Timeline | Harvey Milk | Archive | In Print | Photos | Links


Rainbow flag prominently waving over the crowd at the public introduction of Delaware's civil union bill

Action Alert!

This page includes actions to take, the email addresses of the Delaware legislators, a how-to on lobbying, and finally, contact info for Delaware's U.S. senators and representative.


1. Lobby your state senator and your state representative for legislation banning discrimination against Delaware's LGBTQ public school students.

2. Lobby your state senator and your state representative to require the teaching of LGBTQ history in Delaware's public middle and high schools (as California and New Jersey have done in their schools).

3. Lobby your state senator and your state representative to add an equal protection clause covering race, sex, age, religion, creed, color, familial status, disability, sexual orientation, gender identity and national origin to our Delaware Charter (i.e., constitution).


Emailing your Delaware legislators

Here are the e-addresses of your public servants:

Delaware state senators by name, party, district and e-address
Senator Party District Email address
Harris McDowell D 1 harris.mcdowell@state.de.us
Darius J. Brown D 2 darius.brown@state.de.us
S. Elizabeth Lockman D 3 elizabeth.lockman@state.de.us
Laura Sturgeon D 4 laura.sturgeon@state.de.us
Catherine Cloutier (Minority Whip) R 5 cloutiercathy@aol.com
Ernesto Lopez R 6 ernesto.lopez@state.de.us
Anthony Delcollo R 7 anthony.delcollo@state.de.us
David Sokola D 8 david.sokola@state.de.us
John Walsh D 9 john.walsh@state.de.us
Stephanie Hansen D 10 stephanie.hansen@state.de.us
Bryan Townsend (Majority Whip) D 11 bryan.townsend@state.de.us
Nicole Poore (Majority Leader) D 12 nicole.poore@state.de.us
David McBride (President Pro Tempore) D 13 david.mcbride@state.de.us
Bruce Ennis D 14 bruce.ennis@state.de.us
David Lawson R 15 dave.lawson@state.de.us
Colin Bonini R 16 colin.bonini@state.de.us
Trey Charles Paradee D 17 trey.paradee@state.de.us
David L. Wilson R 18 david.l.wilson@state.de.us
Brian Pettyjohn R 19 brian.pettyjohn@state.de.us
Gerald Hocker (Minority Leader) R 20 gerald.hocker@state.de.us
Bryant Richardson R 21 bryant.richardson@state.de.us

Delaware state representatives by name, party, district and e-address
Representative Party District Email address
Nnamdi Chukwuocha D 1 nnamdi.chukwuocha@state.de.us
Stephanie T. Bolden D 2 stephaniet.bolden@state.de.us
Sherry Dorsey Walker D 3 sherry.dorseywalker@state.de.us
Gerald Brady D 4 gerald.brady@state.de.us
Kendra Johnson D 5 kendra.johnson@state.de.us
Debra Heffernan D 6 debra.heffernan@state.de.us
Raymond Seigfried D 7 ray.seigfried@state.de.us
Quinton Johnson D 8 quinton.johnson@state.de.us
Kevin Hensley R 9 kevin.hensley@state.de.us
Sean Matthews D 10 sean.matthews@state.de.us
Jeffrey N. Spiegelman R 11 jeff.spiegelman@state.de.us
Krista Griffith D 12 krista.griffith@state.de.us
John L. Mitchell (Majority Whip) D 13 john.l.mitchell@state.de.us
Peter Schwartzkopf (Speaker of the House) D 14 peter.schwartzkopf@state.de.us
Valerie Longhurst (Majority Leader) D 15 valerie.longhurst@state.de.us
Franklin D. Cooke D 16 franklind.cooke@state.de.us
Melissa Minor-Brown D 17 melissa.minorbrown@state.de.us
David Bentz D 18 david.bentz@state.de.us
Kimberly Williams D 19 kimberly.williams@state.de.us
Stephen Smyk R 20 steve.smyk@state.de.us
Michael Ramone R 21 michael.ramone@state.de.us
Michael F. Smith R 22 michael.f.smith@state.de.us
Paul Baumbach D 23 paul.baumbach@state.de.us
Edward Osienski D 24 edward.osienski@state.de.us
John Kowalko D 25 john.kowalko@state.de.us
John Viola D 26 john.viola@state.de.us
Earl Jaques D 27 earl.jaques@state.de.us
William Carson D 28 william.carson@state.de.us
William Bush D 29 william.bush@state.de.us
W. Shannon Morris R 30 shannon.morris@state.de.us
Sean Lynn D 31 sean.lynn@state.de.us
Andria Bennett D 32 andria.bennett@state.de.us
Charles Postles Jr. R 33 charles.postles@state.de.us
Lyndon Yearick R 34  lyndon.yearick@state.de.us
Jesse R. Vanderwende R 35 jesse.vanderwende@state.de.us
Bryan W. Shupe R 36 bryan.shupe@state.de.us
Ruth Briggs-King R 37 ruth.briggsking@state.de.us
Ronald Gray R 38 ronald.gray@state.de.us
Daniel Short (Minority Leader) R 39 daniel.short@state.de.us
Timothy Dukes (Minority Whip) R 40 timothy.dukes@state.de.us
Richard Collins R 41 richard.g.collins@state.de.us


Lobbyist with political figureLobbying:  What it is and how to do it

Simply put, lobbying is seeking to influence a legislator or other public figure regarding a particular issue or bill.  Lobbying is tremendously important in Delaware due to Delaware's small size.  Any lobbying effort done here goes a lot further than in more populous states, for with less than a million residents in Delaware, we each can have potentially more personal and direct relationships with our public figures.  

Bridges we can build with governmental decision-makers may be on the basis of political party, employment, business or religion.  That is, do you share their political party, work with them, do business with them, or share their religious affiliation?  Perhaps you are related to them, are neighbors with them, or contributed to them or their political party.  Any of these common areas should be briefly identified when communicating with the lawmakers or other officials.

When visiting with your lawmaker at Legislative Hall in Dover here are some tips:

(a)  Call for an appointment.

(b) Dress the part.  Blue jeans, cut-offs or T-shirts could send a message of disrespect.  Generally accepted office attire is appropriate.

(c)  Take a driver's license or other picture ID to pass security.

(d)  Identify yourself as a constituent of that legislator if you are; if not, identify yourself as a concerned Delawarean.  

(e)  Cite the bill number and where the bill is currently located, i.e., what committee or which chamber has it.  Give your reasons for supporting the bill.

(f)  Be polite no matter how uninformed or biased the lawmaker may be.

(g)  Keep focused on the issue.  Do not allow the lawmaker to dwell on unrelated smokescreens, but return to what is germane to the bill.

(h)  Tell the officeholder you will continue to be in dialog with her/him about this bill, and then do so.

When lobbying by phone or by email, above items (d) through (h) apply.

Whom should you lobby?  Start with your own representative and senator.  Then contact the committee members of the committee to which the bill is assigned.  Then contact any legislator with whom you have a personal, political, professional or religious connection.  Even those lawmakers who are supportive of your bill or issue should be encouraged in their position, lest they waver.  Legislators' e-addresses are above; other contact information for each member of the General Assembly and other elected officials is at www.delaware.gov.

Remember that if you are lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender, you are an expert on what it means to be LGBT.  If you do not belong to a sexual minority but are progressive, you will also be able to enlighten some of our officeholders.  Personal experience goes far when lobbying:  tell your story, have it in written form, and leave it with the lawmaker or other official as a handout.   You may want to use the Revised Spiritual Leaders' Statement in support of LGBTQ people, or you may want to use other materials.  

In conclusion, we have often seen patient and persistent lobbying and education change minds in the Delaware General Assembly toward the direction of greater equality.  Have at it!


Contact Delaware's federal legislators through their official websites:

 

 

 

Sen. Tom Carper

Sen. Thomas Carper

 

Sen. Chris Coons

Sen. Christopher Coons

 

U.S. Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester

Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester

 

 

 

To download the free Adobe Acrobat Reader click on this logo: Get Acrobat Reader

Return to top of page.


Towardequality.org logo featuring "Towardequality.org" superimposed over scales

© 2004 through 2019 Mr. Douglas Marshall-Steele